«

»

Oct
19

Earning From Affiliates WordPress Hacked…

Sorry to anyone that subscribes to my RSS feeds or who has been on the site in the past 24 hours. It seems that this site has been the victim of a hack. I created a category yesterday called Alexa and looking in that category today I find 14 posts about mobile phone ring tones pointing to a site “ringtones-top.info” there is no site there.

A Whois comes up with:

Domain ID:D20274359-LRMS
Domain Name:RINGTONES-TOP.INFO
Created On:17-Oct-2007 12:13:32 UTC
Last Updated On:17-Oct-2007 13:08:31 UTC
Expiration Date:17-Oct-2008 12:13:32 UTC
Sponsoring Registrar:eNom, Inc. (R126-LRMS)
Status:TRANSFER PROHIBITED
Registrant ID:A73F200DAE57EC01
Registrant Name:WhoisGuard Protected
Registrant Organization:WhoisGuard
Registrant Street1:8939 S. Sepulveda Blvd. #110 -
Registrant Street2:732
Registrant Street3:
Registrant City:Westchester
Registrant State/Province:CA
Registrant Postal Code:90045
Registrant Country:US
Registrant Phone:+1.6613102107
Registrant Phone Ext.:
Registrant FAX:
Registrant FAX Ext.:
Registrant Email:4648f2c48efd4542a673de6b8b59afed.protect@whoisguard.com
Admin ID:A73F200DAE57EC01
Admin Name:WhoisGuard Protected
Admin Organization:WhoisGuard
Admin Street1:8939 S. Sepulveda Blvd. #110 -
Admin Street2:732
Admin Street3:
Admin City:Westchester
Admin State/Province:CA
Admin Postal Code:90045
Admin Country:US
Admin Phone:+1.6613102107
Admin Phone Ext.:
Admin FAX:
Admin FAX Ext.:
Admin Email:4648f2c48efd4542a673de6b8b59afed.protect@whoisguard.com
Billing ID:A73F200DAE57EC01
Billing Name:WhoisGuard Protected
Billing Organization:WhoisGuard
Billing Street1:8939 S. Sepulveda Blvd. #110 -
Billing Street2:732
Billing Street3:
Billing City:Westchester
Billing State/Province:CA
Billing Postal Code:90045
Billing Country:US
Billing Phone:+1.6613102107
Billing Phone Ext.:
Billing FAX:
Billing FAX Ext.:
Billing Email:4648f2c48efd4542a673de6b8b59afed.protect@whoisguard.com
Tech ID:A73F200DAE57EC01
Tech Name:WhoisGuard Protected
Tech Organization:WhoisGuard
Tech Street1:8939 S. Sepulveda Blvd. #110 -
Tech Street2:732
Tech Street3:
Tech City:Westchester
Tech State/Province:CA
Tech Postal Code:90045
Tech Country:US
Tech Phone:+1.6613102107
Tech Phone Ext.:
Tech FAX:
Tech FAX Ext.:
Tech Email:4648f2c48efd4542a673de6b8b59afed.protect@whoisguard.com
Name Server:DNS1.NAME-SERVICES.COM
Name Server:DNS2.NAME-SERVICES.COM
Name Server:DNS3.NAME-SERVICES.COM
Name Server:DNS4.NAME-SERVICES.COM
Name Server:DNS5.NAME-SERVICES.COM

What the hell is WhoisGuard? They seem to be a company that allows hackers/Spammers to hide their identity… ok, not so fast… I have full logs and will be going through them with a fine tooth comb and will report anything I find out.

 I am unsure on how the hack was performed, but it was posted under my admin username. I have changed all passwords, and will be upgrading wordpress to the latest stable release.

So just a warning to all you bloggers out there, check your wordpress blogs